Tag Archives | Health

Harris_Robie

Guest Blogger: Robie Harris

For the past twenty years, people have been asking me how I came to write It’s Perfectly Normal: A Book about Changing Bodies, Growing Up, Sex, and Sexual Health (Candlewick, 1994). It all began when an editor asked if I would be interested in writing a book for preteens and teens about AIDS. At the […]






Continue Reading

Contests & Giveaways | September 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age (Middle School) A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood cave-boy perfect for fans of Ice Age, Happy Feet, The […]

Continue Reading

Guest Blogger: Jacqueline Woodson

I’ve worn glasses since childhood. I really wanted them. I considered them an accessory rather than an albatross. I remember holding the huge black letter “E” in the wrong direction in the optometrist’s office, even though I could see the vision chart clearly. The doctor must have seen right through this ploy because my first […]






Continue Reading

Blog Tour: David Stahler, Jr.

Today, TeachingBooks.net welcomes author David Stahler, Jr. as he stops by on his blog tour. I did more research than usual for Spinning Out (Chronicle, 2011). This novel explores a few real-life issues I don’t have a lot of background on. It’s also the first novel I’ve written that isn’t science fiction. Usually the word “research” […]

Continue Reading

Blog Tour: J.L. Powers

The seed for my newest young adult novel, This Thing Called the Future (Cinco Puntos, 2011), was planted five years ago when I was studying the Zulu language at a university in Pietermaritzburg, South Africa. The Zulu family I stayed with had two young teenage girls—thirteen and fourteen—who were incredibly hard-working girls and always respectful […]






Continue Reading

Robie Harris on Presenting Human Development and Sexuality to Children and Teens

Author Robie Harris and illustrator Michael Emberley have worked closely together to create nearly a dozen age-appropriate books for children and teens on human development and sexuality, including It’s So Amazing!: A Book about Eggs, Sperm, Birth, Babies, and Families (Candlewick, 1999)and It’s Perfectly Normal: Changing Bodies, Growing Up, Sex, and Sexual Health (Candlewick, 1994). […]






Continue Reading

Enjoying snow through picture books

Whether you live in the icy North or amongst swaying palm trees, you’ve likely had a recent encounter with snow. Perhaps it was just in a photo on a holiday card or an image in a movie. Or, like me, you encountered snow this very morning as you shoveled your walk. It’s December and a […]

Continue Reading