Contests & Giveaways | September 2022

Each month we feature free and fun book contests and giveaways. We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.

Win a copy of Enemies by Svetlana Chmakova (Middle Grade)

R-r-ring! School’s back in session with Enemies, the latest in the bestselling Berrybrook Middle School graphic novel series. Chmakova, whose books have graced the YALSA Top 10 Graphic Novels list, does it again bringing middle graders a book about responsibility, family and peer pressure, success and failure in her inimitable graphic style. “Enemies is my love letter to all the ones who try and fail and try again, but especially to fellow chaos energy kids out there and those who hold them up,” says Chmakova.

JY/Yen Press is giving away 10 copies of Enemies. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 21, 2022 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Play the jigsaw puzzle!

Win a copy of Tiny Spoon vs. Little Fork by Constance Lombardo, Dan Abdo, and Jason Patterson (Elementary)

Named one of the Top 60 Books for Your Kindergarten Collection and praised as, “will have your kiddos laughing hysterically” by We Are Teachers, Tiny Spoon vs. Little Fork is ideal for talking about differences, acceptance, friendship, babies and table etiquette!

mineditionUS/Astra Books for Young Readers is giving away 10 copies of Tiny Spoon vs. Little Fork. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 23, 2022 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Explore the activity kit!

Win a copy of How to Draw a Happy Cat by Ethan T. Berlin and Jimbo Matison (Elementary)

“What you’d get if you combined Ed Emberley with If You Give A Mouse A Cookie” (Betsy Bird, SLJ.com), this “How to Draw” lesson and relatable madcap read-aloud is immense fun, and perfect for fans of Dragons Love Tacos.

mineditionUS/Astra Books for Young Readers is giving away 10 copies of How to Draw a Happy Cat. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 23, 2022 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Play the board game!

Win a copy of Fiona the Fruit Bat by Dan Riskin and Rachel Qiuqi (Elementary)

From biologist Daniel Reskin, a sweet and informative STEM picture book rooted in the real-life biology of short-tailed fruit bats, Fiona the Fruit Bat reveals the fascinating science behind echolocation as it presents a story of overcoming the fear of new experiences and finding the self-confidence to listen to your own voice.

Greystone Kids is giving away 5 copies of Fiona the Fruit Bat. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 23, 2022 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Explore the teacher’s guide!

Win a copy of If Your Babysitter Is a Bruja by Ana Siqueira and Irena Freitas (Elementary)

This bouncy, bilingual picture book about a babysitter who may or may not be a witch is perfect for Halloween story time!

Simon and Schuster is giving away 5 copies of If Your Babysitter Is a Bruja. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 26, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Read the Guest Blog Post by the author!

Win a copy of Dressing Up the Stars: The Story of Movie Costume Designer Edith Head by Jeanne Walker Harvey and Diana Toledano (Elementary)

Discover the true story of how a shy miner’s daughter became one of the most legendary costume designers in Hollywood in this inspiring nonfiction picture book biography. Edith Head dressed all the biggest stars—Grace Kelly, Audrey Hepburn, Ginger Rogers, and more—to define the style of an era. She won a record eight Academy Awards.

Beach Lane Book/Simon & Schuster is giving away 5 copies of Dressing Up the Stars. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 27, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore the activity kit!

Win a copy of Annette Feels Free: The True Story of Annette Kellerman, World-Class Swimmer, Fashion Pioneer, and Real-Life Mermaid by Katie Mazeika (Elementary)

Discover the incredible true story of “The Original Mermaid,” Annette Kellerman, who went from having to wear braces on her legs to becoming a champion water ballet dancer and competitive swimmer. Annette beat men in swimming races, despite the heavy costume women were forced to wear in the water. She designed a new, streamlined swimsuit—scandalous at the time—and fought for the right for all women to be able to wear it and feel free.

Beach Lane Book/Simon & Schuster is giving away 5 copies of Annette Feels Free. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 28, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore the curriculum guide!

Win a copy of Pauli Murray: The Life of a Pioneering Feminist and Civil Rights Activist by Terry Catasús Jennings and Rosita Stevens-Holsey (Middle Grade, Young Adult)

Biography in verse of Pauli Murray. She was a queer civil rights and women’s rights activist before any movement advocated for either—the brilliant mind that conceptualized, but was never credited for, the arguments that would win Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka and in the arguments that won women equality in the workplace.

Author Terry Catasús Jennings is giving away 6 signed copies of Pauli Murray. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 29, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore the teacher resource guide!

Win a set of the Definitely Dominguita series by Terry Catasús Jennings and Fátima Anaya (Elementary)

Judy Moody meets the Diary of a Future President remake in this heartwarming chapter book series featuring a young Cuban American girl who finds adventure based on the classics she read with her beloved abuela.

Author Terry Catasús Jennings is giving away 6 signed sets of the Definitely Dominguita series. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore the teacher’s guide!

Win a copy of Big Bear and Little Fish by Sandra Nickel and Il Sung Na (Elementary)

A sweet story of unexpected friendship between Bear (who is very big!) and Fish (who is very little!), told in accessible prose that’s just right for beginning readers.

Lerner Publishing Group is giving away 5 copies of Big Bear and Little Fish. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore the teaching guide!

Win a copy of Teen Innovators: Nine Young People Engineering a Better World with Creative Inventions by Fred Estes (Middle Grade, Young Adult)

Celebrate the determination and ingenuity of young inventors. Through profiles that explore the challenges, motivations, and lives of these teen visionaries, readers will see how the science they study today in school relates to these important discoveries.

Lerner Publishing is giving away 5 ARCs of Teen Innovators. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore the teaching guide!

Win a book set of Biome Explorers by Laura Perdew and Lex Cornell (Elementary)

Scientifically accurate illustrations, fascinating facts, and a hands-on activity are all part of the opportunity for deeper learning about biomes in these five nonfiction picture books. An introductory poem and glossary encourage language arts connections. Perfect as a real aloud or for beginning readers.

Nomad Press is giving away a complete five-book set of Biome Explorers books. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore this book guide for Footsteps in the Forest!

Win a set of the Nature’s Friends series by Joyce L. Markovics (Elementary)

This visually appealing nonfiction series focuses on various natural elements, including animals and plants, that help support a healthy environment. With a strong focus on sustainability and conservation, readers will learn about how humans impact the environment and what can be done about it. Series features include sidebars, glossary, index, and activities about how readers can nurture nature.

Norwood House is giving away 2 paperback sets of the Nature’s Friends series. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore the teacher’s guide!

Win a copy of Ethel’s Song: Ethel Rosenberg’s Life in Poems by Barbara Krasner (Young Adult)

Convicted of conspiracy to commit espionage for the Soviet Union against the United States, Ethel Rosenberg shares the story of her beliefs, loves, secrets, betrayals, and injustices in this compelling YA novel in verse.

Astra Books for Young Readers is giving away 20 copies of Ethel’s Song. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2022 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore the educator’s guide!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to Contests & Giveaways | September 2022

  1. Stacy Palomino September 9, 2022 at 12:49 pm #

    So many interesting options! I will be added these titles to my list of must haves! I grew up in Topeka and I remember learning about Brown vs. The Board of Education of Topeka. I will definitely have to read that book! Good luck everyone!

  2. Ana Siqueira September 9, 2022 at 2:48 pm #

    I want the Dominguita series for my grandson.

  3. Michelle September 12, 2022 at 6:47 am #

    I love getting insight on new books and Teaching Books does just that! The recommendations are spot on. Super helpful for developing a divers classroom library. I love that they are partnered with Vooks now! this will help my littles gain access to valuable literature.

  4. R. W. September 13, 2022 at 2:01 pm #

    Thank you so much for the opportunity to build our library with these wonderful books!

  5. Cristal Martinez September 26, 2022 at 10:53 pm #

    What a great variety of fiction and nonfiction titles! I’m especially drawn to If Your Babysitter is a Bruja. Can’t wait to check it out!

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest