Contests & Giveaways | August 2021

Each month we feature free and fun book contests and giveaways. We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.

Win a copy of The Longest Storm by Dan Yaccarino (Elementary)

New York Times Best Illustrated Award winner Dan Yaccarino brings us a starred review (Kirkus, PW) picture book that’s ideal for social-emotional learning and sparking discussions about experiences during the COVID-19 quarantine or any conflict or trauma — and the healing power of apology.

minEdition is giving away 10 copies of The Longest Storm. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 20, 2021 (Open to U.S. and Canadian Addresses)

Explore the Discussion Guide!

Win a copy of Secondhand Dogs by Carolyn Crimi (Elementary)

A motley pack of rescue dogs stars in this heartwarming—and heart tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what it means to be part of a family. Fans of A Dog’s Life and Because of Winn Dixie, will love this pitch-perfect story by Carolyn Crimi.

Balzer + Bray/HarperCollins is giving away 5 copies of Secondhand Dogs. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 20, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Classroom Guide!

Win 2 middle grade novels by Celesta Rimington (Elementary, Middle Grade)

Celesta Rimington’s first novel, The Elephant’s Girl, is an engaging story about the connection between a girl deposited in a Nebraska zoo by a tornado and the elephant who saved her from the storm. Tips for Magicians, the author’s new book, is a lyrical and hopeful story about a grieving boy, his best friends, and a stray dog who work together to bring back the mysterious muse who grants wishes to the residents of their small artistic Utah town.

Crown Books is giving away 5 sets of these charming middle grade novels by Celesta Rimington. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 27, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Curriculum Guide for Tips for Magicians!

Win a set of A Total Waste of Space-Time! and The Kids of Cattywampus Street (Elementary, Middle Grade)

Jide, Petra, and their intergalactic friends on the Potato (their orbiting classroom) are ready for an out-of-this-world adventure in A Total Waste of Space-Time!—a graphic novel from the author of the New York Times bestselling Jedi Academy books. Each of the eleven chapters in The Kids of Cattywampus Street tells an utterly unforgettable tale about one of the kids who lives on a very intriguing street with a mysterious toy shop.

Random House Children’s Books is giving away 10 sets of these two fun books for grades 2-6. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 27, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Listen to the Audio Name Pronunciation for Lisa Jahn-Clough, author of The Kids of Cattywampus Street.

Win a copy of Indelible Ann: The Larger-Than-Life Story of Governor Ann Richards by Meghan P. Browne and Carlynn Whitt (Elementary)

In this stunning picture book biography, full of vim, vigor, and folksy charm, students will travel through the life of the legendary Ann Richards, the “big mouth, big hair” governor of Texas, a woman who was inspired by Eleanor Roosevelt, and in turn became an inspiration to Hillary Clinton and countless others.

Random House Studio is giving away 10 copies of Indelible Ann. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 30, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Listen to the Audio Name Pronunciation for Meghan P. Browne!

Win a copy of The Homework Squad’s ADHD Guide to School Success by Joshua Shifrin and Tracy Bishop (Elementary, Middle Grade)

The Homework Squad is here for kids with ADHD! This easy-to-use guide will help with key study skills to improve reading, writing, math, listening, memorization, concentration, and more! Bite-sized tips and tricks, journal prompts, and advice for challenges help kids with ADHD recognize how they learn best and act on that knowledge.

Magination Press is giving away 5 copies of The Homework Squad’s ADHD Guide the School Success. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 30, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Listen to the Audio Name Pronunciation with author Joshua Shifrin!

Win a bookset of the Slithering Snakes series by Gail Terp (Elementary)

To celebrate the release of our new Fall ’21 titles, we are giving away two sets of our new, high-interest Slithering Snakes series. This is a wonderful opportunity to add a vibrant, engaging series to a classroom or library collection!

Black Rabbit Books is giving away 2 sets of the 6-title series Slithering Snakes. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 30, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Listen to the Meet-the-Author Recording for Anacondas!

Win a set of the The League of Secret Heroes series by Kate Hannigan (Middle Grade)

The Cape, Mask, and Boots books blend history + fantasy, traditional novel + graphic novel, superheroes + real-life heroes from WWII history. With Boots soaring onto shelves, Kate Hannigan is giving away all 3 books in the superhero series!

Author Kate Hannigan is giving away 3 sets of The League of Super Heroes series including: Cape, Mask, and Boots. Email Kate@KateHannigan.com for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 31, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Curriculum Guides for Cape and Mask!

Win a set of Pug & Pig books PLUS a poster and bookmarks! (Elementary)

Pug & Pig and Friends is the newest adventure featuring best friends Pug and Pig and their sneaky pal Cat, who likes to surprise Pug when he’s napping. Previous books in this fun picture book series include Pug & Pig Trick-or-Treat and Pug Meets Pig.

Beach Lane Books/Simon and Schuster is giving away 5 sets of all three Pug & Pig books PLUS a fun READ poster and bookmark set featuring the characters. Twenty runners-up will receive a poster and bookmarks. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 31, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Activity Kit!

Win a copy of Where I Belong by Marcia Argueta Mickelson (Young Adult)

Guatemalan American high school senior Millie Vargas struggles to balance her family’s needs with her own ambitions, especially after her mother’s employer, a Senate candidate, uses Millie as a poster child for “deserving” immigrants.

Lerner Publishing Group is giving away 5 ARCs of Where I Belong. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 31, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Discussion Guide!

Win a Real World Science bookset (Middle Grade, Young Adult)

You can find STEM everywhere! Two books for ages 12 to 15 explore the science and engineering that can be found in our everyday lives. The Chemistry of Food and The Science of Fashion use activities and real-world examples to show how science provides the foundation for our world!

Nomad Press is giving away a Real World Science bookset: The Chemistry of Food and The Science of Fashion. Submit an entry for a chance to win! Email Andi Diehn at andi@nomadpress.net with questions.

Deadline: August 31, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Classroom Guide!

Win a Ready-to-Read Early Reader Series book bundle (Elementary)

Head back to school with this Ready-to-Read early reader book bundle! Ready-to-Read leveled readers include both engaging nonfiction and stories featuring fan-favorite characters. They are vetted by educational experts to adhere to the latest beginning reader guidelines and receive official Lexile and F&P reading levels.

Simon & Schuster is giving away one Ready-to-Read Early Reader Series book bundle. Email education.library@simonandschuster.com with your name, school or library, and preferred mailing address, with the header or subject line “TeachingBooks Ready-to-Read Giveaway” for a chance to win!

Deadline: August 31 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Teaching Ideas!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to Contests & Giveaways | August 2021

  1. Kate Hannigan September 1, 2021 at 3:29 pm #

    Congratulations to winners of my 3-book giveaway! There were so many wonderful responses, I could not narrow down to just three winners, so I picked FOUR! I’ll message you directly, but for anyone curious, here they are! Thank you for taking an interest in CAPE, MASK, and BOOTS!

    Annette Pierce, Librarian
    Franklin Elementary School

    Jennifer Olson, Education Consultant
    Wisconsin

    Jennifer Orosco, Teacher
    El Monte Middle School

    Becky Isbell, Director
    Brownwood Public Library

  2. Kate Hannigan September 1, 2021 at 3:32 pm #

    Thank you to all who entered my giveaway for CAPE, MASK, and BOOTS! I was thrilled to see the warm response, and I could not narrow it down to just three winners, so I picked FOUR! I will message directly, but for the curious, they are listed below! It takes YEARS to research and write these stories, so I appreciate the interest!

    Annette Pierce, Librarian
    Franklin Elementary School

    Jennifer Olson, Education Consultant
    Wisconsin

    Jennifer Orosco, Teacher
    El Monte Middle School

    Becky Isbell, Director
    Brownwood Public Library

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest