Contests and Giveaways | February 2018

contests-giveaways-badgeEach month we feature free and fun book contests and giveaways. We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.

 

My Dirty Dog

Win the 4-Book The Read and Write Series! (Elementary)

When the family gathers for Grandma’s birthday, they spend the day at the local K-9 Karnival. At home, cousins Dennis & Mellie write informative essays about the day. Two full mentor essays included: a how-to essay and an informative essay. This is Book 4 in The Read and Write Series, that feature these cousins, their pets and great essays.

With the publication of My Dirty Dog: My Informative Essay, Book 4 of The Read and Write Series, Mims House is giving away a complete 4-book set of The Read and Write Series that includes I Want a Dog: My Opinion Essay, I Want a Cat: My Opinion Essay, My Crazy Dog: My Narrative Essay, and My Dirty Dog: My Informative Essay. Please fill out this form to enter the giveaway

Deadline: February 22, 2018 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Get your students writing with the helpful worksheets in the Lesson Plan!

 

Tomb RaidersWin a free copy of Mystery and Mayhem Tomb Raiders: Real Tales of Grave Robberies! (Middle Grade)

Why on earth would anyone want to dig up a grave? The characters in Tomb Raiders: Real Tales of Grave Robberies all have their reasons. Armed with shovels and crowbars, thieves throughout history have unearthed graves out of greed, hunger, and knowledge. Tomb Raiders recounts little-known stories of body snatchers and crooks of the crypt, including the starving colonists in Jamestown, Virginia, medical students in New York City in 1788, grave robbers raiding ancient Egyptian pharaohs in the Valley of the Kings and another pyramid in Sipán, Peru, and even kidnappers who see an opportunity in the tomb of President Abraham Lincoln!

Nomad Press is giving away 25 copies of Tomb Raiders: Real Tales of Grave Robberies. Please email sean@nomadpress.net and include your physical address, the grade level or age group of the students you work with as well as the school where you work.

Deadline:  February 28, 2018 (open to U.S. addresses)

Find questions to get students thinking as they read in the Teacher’s Guide!

 

March Forward, GirlWin a copy of March Forward, Girl! (Middle Grade)

From civil rights activist and author of the million-copy selling Warriors Don’t Cry Melba Pattillo Beals comes a profound memoir of growing up in the Jim Crow South.

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt is giving away 10 copies of March Forward, Girl.  To enter, please email amanda.acevedo@hmhco.com with the subject line “March Forward, Girl giveaway.”

Deadline:  February 28, 2018 (open to U.S. addresses)

Help your students explore the history behind March Forward, Girl with the Lesson Plan!

 

The Adventures of Miss PetitfourWin a Free Copy of The Adventures of Miss Petitfour! (Elementary)

Miss Petitfour is an expert at baking (and eating) fancy iced cakes, and she enjoys taking her sixteen cats out on windy days, using her favorite tea party tablecloth as a makeshift balloon. Join Miss Petitfour on five magical outings including a search of marmalade, the retrieval of a lost rare stamp, and the village’s annual Festooning Festival.

Tundra Books (a division of Penguin Random House Canada) is giving away seven paperback copies of The Adventures of Miss Petitfour. To enter to win, please emailsdevotta@penguinrandomhouse.com with the subject line “Miss Petitfour Giveaway” and include your mailing address.

Deadline:  February 28, 2018 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Get your students engaged with the activities in the Miss Petitfour Educator’s Guide!

 

The Disturbed Girl's DictionaryEnter to Win an ARC of The Disturbed Girl’s Dictionary! (High School)

NoNieqa Ramos’s debut novel The Disturbed Girl’s Dictionary features dictionary entries from A to Z by Macy Cashmere. Fifteen-year-old Macy is classified as “disturbed” by her school. But she isn’t interested in how others see her. She’s got more pressing problems: a volatile family, Child Protective Services, law enforcement, and a best friend who isn’t telling her something very important. In a starred review, Booklist called Ramos “a voice to watch.”

Lerner Publishing Group is giving away 5 ARCs of The Disturbed Girl’s Dictionary. Fill out this form for a chance to win.

Deadline: February 28, 2018 (open to U.S. addresses)

Raise interesting questions with The Disturbed Girl’s Dictionary Discussion Guide!

 

Lola DutchWin a copy of Lola Dutch! (Elementary)

Meet Lola Dutch! Created by long-time Etsy sensation and children’s textile designer Sarah Jane Wright and her husband Kenneth, this delightfully creative character is perfect for fans of Eloise, Fancy Nancy, and Olivia.

Bloomsbury Children’s Books is giving away 5 copies of LOLA DUTCH. To enter, please fill out this form.

Deadline: February 28, 2018 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Go on a Book Hunt and play Book Bingo with the Lola Dutch Activity Sheets!

 

A Lady Has the FloorWin a free copy of A Lady Has the Floor: Belva Lockwood Speaks Out for Women’s Rights! (Elementary)

Belva Lockwood was bold, determined, and strong! This well-researched and strikingly illustrated nonfiction picture book biography explores the remarkable life of this little-known but powerful American activist. Belva Lockwood—a pioneering advocate for women’s rights—was never afraid to take the floor. Belva dared to dream big, becoming the first woman on the Presidential ballot, even before women had the right to vote! She strived for parity in the classroom, in the courtroom, and in politics. How she stayed true to her ideals despite opposition from her father, her law school, and the Supreme Court—where she was the first woman to argue a case—is a riveting story of achievement against the odds. With wonderfully evocative illustrations by Alison Jay, this deftly told story by award-winning author Kate Hannigan includes an author’s note, a timeline, archival photos, a bibliography, and source notes.

Boyds Mills Press is giving away 10 copies of A Lady Has the Floor. Email marketing@boydsmillspress.com to enter!

Deadline: March 1, 2018 (open to U.S. addresses)

See more about the book with the Book Trailer for A Lady Has the Floor.

 

Abraham Lincoln: Pro WrestlerEnter to win a Free Set of the Time Twisters series by award-winning author Steve Sheinkin! (Elementary)

Enter for a chance to win the first two books in a brand new middle-grade series by award-winning author Steve Sheinkin! This fun and wacky series follows step-siblings Doc and Abby as they corral famous historical figures back into their own time periods– think Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure meets the Magic Treehouse series for kids!
Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group is giving away 10 copies of the two-book series. To enter, fill out this form.
Deadline: March 9, 2018 (open to U.S. addresses)

Explore more about the Time Twisters at the series website!

 

Brightly 2018 PreviewEnter to Win a Library of Books for Your Students from Brightly! (Elementary, Middle Grade, and High School)

Brightly is giving away a library of 50 books, including many fantastic new releases featured in the site’s roundups of picturebeginner chaptermiddle grade, and young adult books not be missed in 2018. Enter for a chance to win great new reads for your students!

To enter to win this prize package, please visit Brightly and fill out the form.

Deadline: March 23, 2018 (open to U.S. addresses)

Read Brightly’s Q&A with Matt de la Peña to learn more about the author’s new picture book, Love.

 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply