Contests and Giveaways | February 2017

Each month we feature free and fun book contests and giveaways. We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.

 

DolphinRescueWin a free set of the first two titles in the new Animal Planet Adventures books! (Elementary)

Animal Planet Adventures are fun new chapter books for ages 6-10 that pair a fiction animal mystery story with nonfiction sidebars to bring the best of the animal world to young readers.

Time Inc. Books is giving away 5 sets of books 1 and 2 in the new series: Dolphin Rescue and Farm Friends Escape! To enter to win, click on this link.

Deadline: February 20, 2017 (open to U.S. addresses)

Find great questions for discussion in the Curriculum Guide!

 

VagabondsWin a free copy of Vagabonds! (Middle Grade)

Vagabonds is an American fantasy set in the Ozark mountains. Like El Garro’s clan of armadillos, we are a nation of immigrants, people who have known the sacrifice of leaving everything behind to find a future and a hope for their families.

Mims House is giving away 1 copy of Vagabonds. Please email Sue.Foster@mimshouse.com and include your mailing address.

Deadline: February 22, 2017 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Learn about the author’s creative process in the Discussion Guide!

 

UndergroundRailroadWin a free copy of The Underground Railroad: Navigate the Journey from Slavery to Freedom! (Elementary to Middle Grade)

In The Underground Railroad: Navigate the Journey from Slavery to Freedom, learn about the tens of thousands of African American men, women, and children who risked their lives to gain their freedom, and the thousands more who risked their lives to help.

Nomad Press is giving away 25 copies of The Underground Railroad. Please email rachel@nomadpress.net and include your physical address, the grade level or age group of the students you work with as well as the school where you work.

Deadline: February 28, 2017 (open to U.S. addresses)

Find useful questions to encourage critical thinking in the Teacher’s Guide!

 

UpWin a free copy of Up! How Families Around the World Carry Their Little Ones! (Elementary)

From Afghanistan to northern Canada, from Peru to West Africa, this children’s book is a worldwide tour of the many ways we carry our little ones—whether it’s in slings, on shoulders, in backpacks, or on hips.

Owlkids Books is giving away 5 copies of Up!. To enter to win, send an email to jemicah.marasigan@owlkids.com with the subject line “Up! giveaway” and include your mailing address.

Deadline: February 28, 2017 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Check out the beautiful art and variety of cultures featured in the Book Trailer.

 

PantsProjectWin a free copy of The Pants Project! (Middle Grade)

Enjoy this new middle-grade novel in the vein of George and Gracefully Grayson that a starred review from Kirkus called “a tale that unabashedly affirms the importance of accepting and celebrating differences.” Liv knows he was always meant to be a boy, but with his school’s terrible dress code, he can’t even wear pants. Only skirts. Operation: Pants Project begins!

Sourcebooks is giving away 15 copies of The Pants Project. Please visit the link and fill out the form to enter the giveaway.

Deadline:  February 28, 2017 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Foster conversations on fighting for what you believe in, bullying, and more with the Discussion Guide.

 

PrideWin a free copy of Pride! (Middle Grade)

Congratulations to Robin Stevenson, author of Pride: Celebrating Diversity & Community, which was recently named a 2017 USBBY Outstanding International Book, a 2017 Rainbow Book List selection, and a 2017 Stonewall Honor Book.

Orca Book Publishers is giving away 4 copies of Pride. To enter to win one of these copies, send an email to orca@orcabook.com with the subject line “Free copy of Pride” and include your mailing address.

Deadline:  February 28, 2017 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Hear about how Robin Stevenson wrote this book in the Meet-the-Author Book Reading.

 

FightForFreedomWin a free set of Great Debates books! (Middle Grade)

This information-packed five-title series stimulates critical thinking with tough questions. Readers learn how arguments are framed and form connections between the great debates of the past to the ones taking place today.

Norwood House Press is giving away 3 sets of all 5 Great Debates titles. Please email info@norwoodhousepress.com to enter.

Deadline:  February 28, 2017 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Start great debates in your classroom with the Teacher Guide.

 

InTheShadowOfLibertyWin a free copy of In the Shadow of Liberty! (Middle/High School)

Enter for a chance to win In the Shadow of Liberty, written by Kenneth C. Davis. This YALSA Nonfiction finalist about the lives of five people who were enslaved by American presidents is a thoroughly-researched and documented book that can be worked into multiple aspects of the common core curriculum.

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group is giving away 5 copies of In the Shadow of Liberty. Click on this link and fill out the form to enter.

Deadline: February 28, 2017 (open to U.S. addresses only)

Listen to Kenneth C. Davis discuss this fascinating book in the Meet-the-Author Book Reading.

 

MoneyDoesntGrowOnMarsWin a free copy of Money Doesn’t Grow on Mars! (Elementary)

Making money is easy! Jack gets two dollars to sweep the sidewalk, a dollar to take out trash, five dollars to dust. Soon he’ll have enough to buy a special copy of his favorite comic book! Jack has it all under control, unlike Spork, who’s crazy for video games. But Jack forgot one thing. Making money may be easy. Keeping it is hard!

Kane Press is giving away 10 paperback copies of Money Doesn’t Grow on Mars. To enter to win, send an email to info@kanepress.com with the subject line: “TeachingBooks.net Money Doesn’t Grow on Mars.” Please be sure to include your mailing address.

Deadline: March 17, 2017 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Find more fun at the series website.

 

WardensDaughterEnter to win a collection of books from Brightly! (Elementary, Middle, & High School)

Brightly is giving away a library of 50 books, including many fantastic new releases featured in the site’s roundups of picture, middle grade, and young adult books not to be missed in 2017. It’s the perfect way to kick off the new year and all the days of learning and reading ahead. Enter for a chance to win great new reads for your students!

To enter to win this prize package, please visit Brightly.

Deadline: March 25, 2017 (open to U.S. addresses)

Find out more about The Warden’s Daughter, one of the books in this giveaway, with this great author interview.

 

,

3 Responses to Contests and Giveaways | February 2017

  1. Suzanne Costner February 10, 2017 at 7:14 pm #

    All of these titles sound wonderful. I am especially excited about In the Shadow of Liberty. I heard the author talking about it in a webinar the other day and was intrigued.

  2. Rhonda Thomas February 15, 2017 at 10:01 am #

    So very nice of these companies to give away free books. We are from a Title I school so everything is helpful when it comes to putting books in the hands of our students

  3. Shelley February 15, 2017 at 2:08 pm #

    I enjoy the contests and have been lucky a couple of times. Sometimes I add the book to our library and some times I give it away as a prize.

Leave a Reply