Contests & Giveaways | September 2021

Each month we feature free and fun book contests and giveaways. We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.

Win a copy of How Do We Stop Climate Change? by Tom Jackson and Dragan Kordić (Elementary)

Kids have questions about climate change. Why is it happening? What about the animals? What can we do? In How Do We Stop Climate Change?, the causes and consequences of climate change are explained using Mind Mapping techniques that make big ideas easy to understand.

Insight Editions is giving away 5 copies of How Do We Stop Climate Change?. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 17, 2021 (Open to U.S. and Canadian Addresses)

Explore the Teacher’s Guide!

Win a copy of The Magnificent Book of Treasures: Ancient Egypt by Philip Steele and Eugenia Nobati (Elementary, Middle Grade)

The Magnificent Book of Treasures: Ancient Egypt is filled with ancient secrets, glittering gold, priceless treasures, and Egyptian stories from more than 3,000 years ago!

Insight Editions is giving away 5 copies of The Magnificent Book of Treasures: Ancient Egypt. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 17, 2021 (Open to U.S. and Canadian Addresses)

Explore the Teacher’s Guide!

Win a copy of Plants and Animals by Motomitsu Maehara (Elementary)

Featured on Red Tricycle’s Best Children’s Books of 2021 list, this “stunning new” (Let’s Talk Picture Books) multilingual board book series presents kids with the names of a variety of plants or animals in six most widely spoken languages: English, Chinese (Mandarin), Hindi, Spanish, French and Arabic. Great for encouraging multilingual exploration and curiosity about our world for young readers.

Blue Dot Kids Press is giving away 5 copies of Animals and Plants. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 22, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Activity Guide for Birds and Ocean Animals also by Motomitsu Maehara!

Win a copy of Bird Boy by Matthew Burgess and Shahrzad Maydani (Elementary)

Bird Boy

Nico is at a new school, so he keeps to himself and watches the birds. Kids tease him and call him “Bird Boy”, but Nico doesn’t really mind. Soon he makes one friend, and then another, just by being himself. This SEL title is perfect for back-to-school!

Knopf Books for Young Readers is giving away 10 copies of Bird Boy. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 24, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the For Teachers, By Teachers post from the author!

Win a copy of Once Upon a Camel by Kathi Appelt and Eric Rohmann (Elementary, Middle Grade)

Few authors can write an animal story with as much heart as Kathi Appelt, a Newbery Honoree and two-time National Book Award finalist. In her newest novel for middle grade readers, a camel takes center stage and weaves stories for the two baby kestrels in her care. The novel taps into the true history of camels brought to the American Southwest by the U.S. Army to ferry supplies.

Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books is giving away 5 copies of Once Upon a Camel. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 24, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Writing Prompt!

Win a copy of Goodbye, Old House by Margaret Wild and Ann James (Elementary)

“Moving house can be fun and not scary with the right attitude… [Goodbye, Old House] would…soothe a child anxious about a potentially traumatic experience.” (Kirkus Reviews). A heartwarming story about embracing change, letting go and starting anew.

Blue Dot Kids Press is giving away 5 copies of Goodbye, Old House. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 25, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Teacher’s Guide, Author Interview, and Activity Guide!

Win a copy of Carry Me Home by Janet Fox (Elementary, Middle Grade)

Two sisters struggle to keep their father’s disappearance a secret in this tender middle grade novel that’s perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Lynda Mullaly Hunt. Newbery Honor author Kirby Larson calls Carry Me Home “a poignant and powerful reminder that homelessness is not hopelessness.”

Simon & Schuster is giving away 5 copies of Carry Me Home. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 27, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Guided Writing Prompt!

Win a copy of How to Win a Slime War by Mae Respicio (Elementary, Middle Grade)

What do you do when your passion is making slime, but your dad thinks it’s a waste of time? A friend at his new school encourages Alex to sell his concoction, sparking a battle with a girl who previously enjoyed a slime-opoly on campus. How to Win a Slime War is filled with heart and hope as it explores the fun and hard work of being an entrepreneur, navigating family expectations, and discovering what it means to win.

Wendy Lamb Books/Random House is giving away 10 copies of How to Win a Slime War. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 27, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Listen to author Mae Respicio’s Audio Name Pronunciation!

Win a copy of The Physics of Fun by Carla Mooney and Alexis Cornell (Young Adult)

In The Physics of Fun, readers ages 12-15 explore the science behind entertaining activities such as skateboarding, snowboarding, trampolining, singing in a band, and playing video games to discover the physics that come into play that make these activities possible.

Nomad Press is giving away 2 copies of The Physics of Fun. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Teaching Guide!

Win a copy of Hair Story by NoNieqa Ramos and Keisha Morris (Elementary)

With rhythmic, rhyming verse, this picture book follows two girls—one non-Black Puerto Rican, one Black—as they discover the stories their hair can tell.

Lerner Publishing Group is giving away 5 copies of Hair Story. Submit an entry for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Explore the Teaching Guide!

Win a copy of Threads of Peace: How Mohandas Gandhi and Martin Luther King Jr. Changed the World by Uma Krishnaswami (Middle Grade, Young Adult)

Mahatma Gandhi and Reverend Martin Luther King Jr. both shook, and changed, the world, in their quest for peace among all people, but what threads connected these great activists together in their shared goal of social revolution? Threads of Peace keenly examines and celebrates these extraordinary activists’ lives, the threads that connect them, and the threads of peace they laid throughout the world, for us to pick up, and weave together.

Simon & Schuster is giving away 10 copies of Threads of Peace. Email education.library@simonandschuster.com with your name, school or library, and preferred mailing address, with the header or subject line “TeachingBooks THREADS OF PEACE Giveaway” for a chance to win!

Deadline: September 30, 2021 (Open to U.S. Addresses)

Listen to the Meet-the-Author Recording and explore the Virtual Book Tour!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest