Contests and Giveaways | May 2017

Each month we feature free and fun book contests and giveaways. We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.

 

50 States: Our America Book CoverWin a Free Copy of 50 States: Our America! (Elementary)

The editors of TIME For Kids present the glorious 50 states of our nation in this informative reference guide, from their geographic and political origins to their place in history. Packed with maps, photos, and timelines, this fun handbook offers readers quick, fascinating facts that are woven into each state profile.

Time Inc. Books is giving away 5 copies of 50 States: Our America. To enter to win, fill out this this form.

Deadline: May 17, 2017 (open to U.S. addresses)

Find activities to engage your students with the curriculum guide!

 

Lucky to Live in Wisconsin book coverWin a free copy of Lucky to Live In…! (Elementary)

By combining storytelling with local interest and information, the Lucky to Live in… READ TOGETHER/DO TOGETHER™ series features read-aloud rhymes and fill-in-the-blank prompts customized to the reader’s state or region and designed to help kids tell their own stories. Featuring spreads on favorite local cuisine (ex. peach pie, GA), interesting attractions (ex. The Freedom Trail, MA) and famous home-state people (ex. Helen Keller, AL) as well as music appreciation and nature and favorite celebrations and goals, the books prompt discussions of sense of self and place, connection to nature, social connectedness and community, discovery, exploration and pride in where children live.

Arcadia Kids is giving away 5 copies of one of the Lucky to Live in… series books. To enter, send an email and Arcadia will send the winners the edition for the state/region where they live.

Deadline: May 19, 2017 (open to U.S. addresses)

Find activities to share with your students with this Time Capsule Event Kit!

 

A Time to Act book coverWin a Copy of A Time To Act – John F. Kennedy’s Big Speech! (Elementary and Middle Grade)

Acclaimed author Shana Corey and New York Times Best Illustrated, Coretta Scott King Honor–winning artist R. Gregory Christie deliver a fresh look at President John F. Kennedy and his relationship with the civil rights movement.

NorthSouth Books is giving away 5 free copies of A Time To Act – John F. Kennedy’s Big Speech. Email hlennon@northsouth.com with your address, please use JFK in the subject line.

Deadline: May 30, 2017 (open to U.S. addresses)

Find essential questions for your students in the discussion guide!

 

Growth Mindset Book BundleWin a “Best in Growth Mindset” Book Bundle! (Elementary)

Sourcebooks is giving away 5 book bundles, featuring all the titles you need to teach Growth Mindset in the classroom! The bundle includes Your Fantastic Elastic Brain and The Girl Who Never Made Mistakes, for a perfect nonfiction/fiction picture book pairing, as well as Mindsets in the Classroom, the leading guide for teaching growth mindset, and Ready to Use Resources for Mindsets in the Classroom.

To enter, please fill visit the entry form to fill it out, and provide 2-3 sentences about how you would use these titles to teach growth mindset in the classroom.

Deadline: May 31, 2017 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Find great classroom activities for The Girl Who Never Made Mistakes with the educator guide!

 

The Curious Tale of the In-Between coverWin a Free Copy of A Curious Tale of the In-Between! (Middle Grade)

An exquisite middle grade novel about a girl who befriends ghosts from acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Sheila Turnage.

Bloomsbury Children’s Books is giving away 5 copies of A Curious Tale of the In-Between. To enter, please fill out this form.

Deadline:  May 31, 2017 (open to U.S and Canadian addresses)

Read interesting insights from the author in this interview!

 

The Two and Only Kelly Twins coverWin the First Two Books in The Two and Only Kelly Twins Series and a Curriculum Guide! (Elementary)

Author Johanna Hurwitz and illustrator Tuesday Mourning invite readers into the world of the funny, lovable Kelly twins, who are truly two of a kind. Enter to win copies of the first two books in the series with a curriculum guide. Candlewick Press is giving away 5 sets of The Two and Only Kelly Twins and Double or Nothing with the Two and Only Kelly Twins and a curriculum guide for using in your classroom.

To enter, send an email to Anne.Irza-Leggat@candlewick.com with the subject line “Kelly Twins” and please include your mailing address.

Deadline:  June 4, 2017 (open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Find some great discussion questions for your students in the Curriculum Guide!

 

, , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply