Contests & Giveaways | September 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways!

We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.

 

WIN A FREE COPY of Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age (Middle School)

A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood cave-boy perfect for fans of Ice Age, Happy Feet, The Time Warp Trio, and Platypus Police Squad.

Egmont USA is giving away 5 copies of Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age by David Zeltser. To enter to win, send an email to michellebayuk@egmont.com with the subject line of “Lug on TeachingBooks.net” and please include your mailing address.

Deadline: September 18, 2014 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Check out author David Zeltser’s personal website!

 

WIN A FREE COPY of Nina Nandu’s Nervous Noggin plus an audio CD (Elementary)

Nina Nandu has just moved to a new neighborhood, and she does not want to go to a new school. “I’m waaay too nervous in my noggin,” she tells Granny Nandu. Young children will relate to Nina’s dilemma and delight in the solution. Nina Nandu’s Nervous Noggin focuses on the sound of the letter N. It is one of 26 titles in the award-winning Animal Antics A to Z series.

Kane Press is giving away 10 paperback copies (plus audio CDs) of Nina Nandu’s Nervous Noggin. To enter to win, send an email to info@kanepress.com with the subject line of “TeachingBooks Nina” and please include your mailing address.

Deadline: September 23, 2014 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Listen to an audio excerpt from the CD narrated by author Barbara deRubertis! 

 

WIN A FREE COPY of The Prairie That Nature Built (Elementary)

This book combines a child’s sense of wonder with an accurate and beautifully illustrated portrayal of the prairie ecosystem. It will help children of all ages understand the interconnectedness of the animals and plants found on the Great Plains and make them want to go experience it for themselves! Back matter offers information and activities for a fuller appreciation of this marvelous, disappearing habitat.

Dawn Publications is giving away 10 copies of The Prairie That Nature Built. To enter to win, send an email to sandy@dawnpub.com with the subject line of “Prairie Book contest” and please include your mailing address.

Deadline: September 19, 2014 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Learn more about illustrator Cathy Morrison in this interview!

 

WIN A FREE COPY of Dojo Daycare plus a poster (Elementary)

Kaboom, kapow! Mayhem ensues in rollicking rhyme and rhythm when a group of young ninjas arrives at daycare. This is an unbeatably boisterous read-aloud.

Owlkids Books is giving away 10 copies of Dojo Daycare, each with a reading-themed ninja poster. To enter to win, send an email to marketingintern@owlkids.com with the subject line of “Dojo Daycare giveaway” and please include your mailing address.

Deadline: September 21, 2014 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Keep your eye on the personal website of author Chris Tougas!

 

 WIN A FREE COPY of It’s Perfectly Normal 20th Anniversary Edition (Middle School)

The definitive book about puberty and sexual health for today’s kids and teens, now fully updated for its twentieth anniversary. “This thoughtful, innovative, and comprehensive book helps children with issues that are on their minds anyway — and gives all of us the language we need to share with them.” — T. Berry Brazelton, MD

Candlewick Press is giving away 15 hardcover copies of It’s Perfectly Normal 20th Anniversary Edition. To enter to win, send an email to anne.irza-leggat@candlewick.com with the subject line of “It’s Perfectly Normal Contest” and please include your mailing address.

Deadline: September 25, 2014 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Author Robie Harris shares the history of It’s Perfectly Normal in her Guest Blog post!

 

WIN A FREE COPY of Pickin’ Peas (Elementary)

August House is giving away 5 free copies of Pickin’ Peas by the award winning author, Margaret Read MacDonald to celebrate the September release of this folktale from the American South.

To enter to win, send an email to steve@augusthouse.com  with the subject line of “Pickin’ Peas,” and write 2 sentences about how you plan to use this picture book in your school. Please include your mailing address. 

Deadline: September 29, 2014 (Open to U.S. and Canadian addresses)

Illustrator Pat Cummings shares her inspiration in this interview!

 

WIN A FREE COPY of Charlie Bumpers vs. the Squeaking Skull (Elementary)

This Halloween, Charlie and Tommy have big plans: First they’re going to win the school costume contest, and then they’re going to eat candy and pizza until they puke! Charlie is thrilled…until he hears that they’ll be watching the scariest horror movie ever. Charlie loves costumes, candy, and sleepovers with his friends, but he absolutely hates horror movies.

Peachtree Publishers is giving away 10 copies of this hilarious chapter book—perfect for Halloween and reluctant readers! Enter to win by sending an email to niki@peachtree-online.com with the subject line of “Squeaking Skull Giveaway” and please include your mailing address. No PO Boxes, please.

Deadline: September 30, 2014 (Open to U.S. addresses)

Explore author Bill Harley’s personal website!

 

howibecameapirateWIN A FREE COPY of the How I Became a Pirate Book App! (Elementary)

Join young Jeremy Jacobs in this interactive book app as he becomes a pirate on Braid Beard’s ship! Explore pictures, learn new vocabulary, and personalize the story with your own narration. Jeremy learns all about being a pirate—from buried treasure to sea chanteys, and pirate talk—but soon finds out what pirate don’t do: no tucking kids in and no bedtime stories! Will Jeremy remain a pirate or will he return home in time for soccer practice?

Oceanhouse Media is giving away 3 copies of How I Became a Pirate book app for iOS devices! To enter to win, send an email to press@oceanhousemedia.com with the subject line of “How I Became a Pirate Giveaway”.

Deadline: September 30, 2014 (Open to all addresses)

Preview this engaging book app!

 

, , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply