Posts Tagged ‘English Language Arts’

Contests & Giveaways | September 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age (Middle School) A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood cave-boy perfect for fans of Ice Age, Happy Feet, The [...]


Contests & Giveaways | June 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of Oblivion (High School) One year ago, Callie was found in an abandoned apartment, scrawling words on the wall: “I KILLED HIM. His [...]


Resources Upon Request: Summer Brenner

  A customer in California recently asked us to create original multimedia resources with author/illustrator Summer Brenner. In this original Meet-the-Author Book Reading you’ll hear Summer explain her personal inspiration for writing Oakland Tales: Lost Secrets of the Town. These Book Readings are excellent to share with students before, during, or after they read Summer’s book as [...]


Guest Blogger: Nick Bruel

Good morning, Nick.
Good morning.
Thank you for meeting with me. I know it’s early.
No problem. I appreciate the invitation.
So, how often do you actually talk to yourself in the mirror?


Guest Blogger: Joe Hayes

The most important thing I tell children when I visit schools is this: writing is sharing. I explain to them that an author isn’t someone special. An author is just someone who wants to share something, and decides to write about it.


Contests & Giveaways | April 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of It’s Catching: The Infectious World of Germs and Microbes (Middle School) Microbiologist Jennifer Gardy, who calls herself a “disease detective,” [...]


Guest Blogger: Eric Walters

The Rule of Three is the first of a trilogy that will run just over 1,200 pages. If a journey of a thousand miles starts with a step, then a trilogy that length begins with an inkling of an idea.


Contests & Giveaways | March 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of Shaping Up Summer (Elementary) Shaping Up Summer is the new, final book in the Math in Nature series—four picture books that help kids [...]


Guest Blogger: David Macaulay

When I start a book I know what it’s going to be about, but I almost never know the best way to tell the story. With Jet Plane: How It Works (David Macaulay Studio, 2012), I started with elephants. I was thinking about how remarkable it is that heavy things can fly.?


Contests & Giveaways | February 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net. WIN A FREE COPY of Plastic, Ahoy! Investigating the Great Pacific Garbage Patch (Middle School) Plastic: It’s used to make everything from drink bottles and bags [...]