Tag Archives | English Language Arts

Giveaway3

Contests & Giveaways | November 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   Win a free copy of TRY THIS! 50 FUN EXPERIMENTS FOR THE MAD SCIENTIST IN YOU (Middle School) Discover what makes science fun in this […]

Continue Reading
Sweet_Melissa

Guest Bloggers: Jen Bryant and Melissa Sweet

For me, it was the sheer number of fields in which Roget developed a working knowledge, and in which he also had significant influence. Roget was interested in just about everything and wrote papers, articles, and books on subjects ranging from botany to mathematics and optics to public health. Today, when most people super-specialize in […]

Continue Reading

Contests & Giveaways | October 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   Win a free copy of Arto’s Big Move (Elementary) Arto has lived in the snowy, cold North his whole life – and seven years is a long […]

Continue Reading
Harris_Robie

Guest Blogger: Robie Harris

For the past twenty years, people have been asking me how I came to write It’s Perfectly Normal: A Book about Changing Bodies, Growing Up, Sex, and Sexual Health (Candlewick, 1994). It all began when an editor asked if I would be interested in writing a book for preteens and teens about AIDS. At the […]

Continue Reading

Contests & Giveaways | September 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age (Middle School) A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood cave-boy perfect for fans of Ice Age, Happy Feet, The […]

Continue Reading

Contests & Giveaways | June 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of Oblivion (High School) One year ago, Callie was found in an abandoned apartment, scrawling words on the wall: “I KILLED HIM. His […]

Continue Reading

Resources Upon Request: Summer Brenner

  A customer in California recently asked us to create original multimedia resources with author/illustrator Summer Brenner. In this original Meet-the-Author Book Reading you’ll hear Summer explain her personal inspiration for writing Oakland Tales: Lost Secrets of the Town. These Book Readings are excellent to share with students before, during, or after they read Summer’s book as […]

Continue Reading
Bruel_Nick

Guest Blogger: Nick Bruel

Good morning, Nick. Good morning. Thank you for meeting with me. I know it’s early. No problem. I appreciate the invitation. So, how often do you actually talk to yourself in the mirror? Oh, not as often as you might think. Sometimes if there’s no mirror around, I hold two tin cans with a string […]

Continue Reading
Hayes_Joe

Guest Blogger: Joe Hayes

The most important thing I tell children when I visit schools is this: writing is sharing. I explain to them that an author isn’t someone special. An author is just someone who wants to share something, and decides to write about it. “If you become interested in something,” I tell students, “you should write about […]

Continue Reading

Contests & Giveaways | April 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of It’s Catching: The Infectious World of Germs and Microbes (Middle School) Microbiologist Jennifer Gardy, who calls herself a “disease detective,” […]

Continue Reading