Tag Archives | English Language Arts

Giveaway4

Contests & Giveaways | January 2015

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   Win a free copy of LET’S CELEBRATE PRESIDENTS’ DAY (Elementary) The stories of George Washington and Abraham Lincoln are told in a single book not […]

Continue Reading

Announcing Our Inaugural Book Discussion!

  TeachingBooks.net is excited to announce that on January 23rd, we will be launching our Virtual Book Discussion series. We are happy to have this opportunity to be in conversation with you as we mix work and play. Use this link to register: TeachingBooks.net Book Discussion. The theme of our first discussion is Immigration, a […]

Continue Reading
Charleyboy_Lisa

Guest Blogger: Lisa Charleyboy

For seven years, I’ve been sharing the stories of the many incredibly talented Native artists, writers, fashion designers, and entrepreneurs across North America on my blog “Urban Native Girl” and the online magazine I co-founded, Urban Native Magazine. So when Mary Beth Leatherdale came to me with the idea to create an anthology for youth […]

Continue Reading
Giveaway1

Contests & Giveaways | December 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   Win a free copy of Fiesta!: A Celebration of Latino Festivals (Elementary) Using the months of the year in Spanish and English, the award-winning team of […]

Continue Reading
Curtis_Christopher_Paul

Guest Blogger: Christopher Paul Curtis

I enjoy writing in the first person. I feel it gives readers immediate insight into a novel’s protagonist; from the beginning of the story they’re inside the head that person—with all the confusion and clarity that it entails. So, when I begin to write a book, I simply sit in a not-too-quiet place (usually the […]

Continue Reading
Giveaway3

Contests & Giveaways | November 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   Win a free copy of TRY THIS! 50 FUN EXPERIMENTS FOR THE MAD SCIENTIST IN YOU (Middle School) Discover what makes science fun in this […]

Continue Reading
Sweet_Melissa

Guest Bloggers: Jen Bryant and Melissa Sweet

For me, it was the sheer number of fields in which Roget developed a working knowledge, and in which he also had significant influence. Roget was interested in just about everything and wrote papers, articles, and books on subjects ranging from botany to mathematics and optics to public health. Today, when most people super-specialize in […]

Continue Reading

Contests & Giveaways | October 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   Win a free copy of Arto’s Big Move (Elementary) Arto has lived in the snowy, cold North his whole life – and seven years is a long […]

Continue Reading
Harris_Robie

Guest Blogger: Robie Harris

For the past twenty years, people have been asking me how I came to write It’s Perfectly Normal: A Book about Changing Bodies, Growing Up, Sex, and Sexual Health (Candlewick, 1994). It all began when an editor asked if I would be interested in writing a book for preteens and teens about AIDS. At the […]

Continue Reading

Contests & Giveaways | September 2014

Each month we feature free and enjoyable book contests and giveaways! We hope you will enjoy the following opportunities as well as the author and book resources available via TeachingBooks.net.   WIN A FREE COPY of Lug, Dawn of the Ice Age (Middle School) A hilarious middle-grade novel about a misunderstood cave-boy perfect for fans of Ice Age, Happy Feet, The […]

Continue Reading